And We’re Off

Razorbill - Nora couldn't feel more unsupported by her mother, and in the weeks leading up to the trip, the women are as disconnected as they've ever been. It's a no-brainer: nora is in! Unfortunately, Nora's mother, Alice, is less than thrilled about the trip. But seconds after saying goodbye to alice at the airport terminal, Nora hears a voice call out: "Wait! Stop! I'm coming with you!" And.

The only catch? nora has to create an original piece of artwork at every stop and send it back to her grandfather. A seventeen magazine best book of the Year “A winsome, hilarious tale about losing the map and finding a better way to a happy ending. Still, nora is shocked and elated when Robert offers her a gift: an all-expenses-paid summer trip to Europe to immerse herself in the craft and to study history's most famous artists.

And We're Off - They’re off. 13 little blue envelopes meets gilmore girls in this fun, funny, and bittersweet summer adventure from Observer writer and the hilarious voice behind @GuyInYourMFA, Dana Schwartz.  . She inherited the skill from her grandfather, Robert, who's always nurtured Nora's talent and encouraged her to follow her passion.

I loved it!” —#1 new york times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner Seventeen-year-old Nora Holmes is an artist, a painter from the moment she could hold a brush. She worries about what the future holds for her young, idealistic daughter—and her opinions haven't gone unnoticed.





Choose Your Own Disaster

Grand Central Publishing - Dana has no idea who she is, but at least she knows she's a Carrie, a Belle, a Ravenclaw, a former emo kid, a Raphael, a Twitter addict, and a millennial just trying her best. Join dana schwartz on a journey revisiting all of the awful choices she made in her early twenties through the internet's favorite method of self-knowledge: the quiz.

Part-memoir, part-very long personality test, choose your own disaster is a manifesto about the millennial experience and modern feminism and how the easy advice of "you can be anything you want!" is actually pretty fucking difficult when there are so many possible versions of yourself it seems like you could be.

Choose Your Own Disaster - This long-form personality quiz manages to combine humor with unflinching honesty as one young woman tries to find herself amid the many, many choices that your twenties have to offer. Bustle. A"hilarious and heartbreaking" jo piazza and unflinchingly honest memoir about one young woman's terrible and life-changing decisions while hoping--and sometimes failing--to find herself, in the style of Never Have I Ever and Adulting.





Emergency Contact

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. For penny lee high school was a total nonevent. Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages.

Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. Sam’s stuck. When sam and penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. I loved this book. Rainbow rowell From debut author Mary H.

K. When penny heads to college in austin, to learn how to become a writer, Texas, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

Emergency Contact - Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other. Her friends were okay, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, her grades were fine, he doesn’t actually know anything about her.





The White Man's Guide to White Male Writers of the Western Canon

Harper Perennial - So instead of politely nodding along next time you make an acquaintance at a housewarming party in Brooklyn, you can roll up your sleeves and get to work schooling them in character arcs and the experimental form of your next great American novel. I’ve actually read Infinite Jest 9 1/2 times. Use my ingenious venn diagram to test your knowledge of which Jonathan—Franzen, Lethem, or Safran Foer—hates Twitter and lives in Brooklyn.

Care to discuss?from shakespeare's greatest mystery how could a working-class man without access to an MFA program be so prolific? to the true meaning of Kafkaesque you know you've made it when you have an adjective named for you, the pages herewith are at once profound and practical. Dazzle your friends with how well you understand post-modernism.

Trick question: all 3! sneer at chick-lit and drink Mojitos like Hemingway not like middle-aged divorcées! You’ve probably seen me around, or defying the wind by hand-rolling a cigarette outside a local, writing furiously in my Moleskine notebook upon keen observation of the masses, fair-trade coffeeshop.

The White Man's Guide to White Male Writers of the Western Canon - You’ll be at a literary event asking a question “that’s really more of a comment” in no time. Narrated by a once-in-a-generation voice, that @GuyInYourMFA: a handbook for the wannabe literary elite and those who laugh at them, illustrated by a New Yorker cartoonist. What does your writing implement of choice say about you as a person? how do you use ‘taraddidle’ in a sentence? Is it possible to make a Gin Ricky that’s also a metaphor for the American Dream?  How can you tell your Faulkner from your Franzen if you haven’t actually read either?Allow me, the guy from your college fiction workshop, to expound on the most important aka white male writers of western literature.





The Distance Between Us

HarperTeen - Because if there's one thing she's learned from her mother's warnings, it's that the rich have a short attention span. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them? Harper Teen. Despite his charming ways and the fact that he seems to be one of the first people who actually gets her, she's smart enough to know his interest won't last.

. But just when xander's loyalty and attentiveness are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn't a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she'd ever realized. Enter xander spence—he's tall, handsome, and oozing rich. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom's porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise.

The Distance Between Us - Money can't buy a good first impression. Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted.





My Year of Rest and Relaxation

Penguin Press - Entertainment weekly’s #1 book of 2018a new york times Notable Book and Times Critics' Top Books of 2018The New York Times bestseller. From one of our boldest, most celebrated new literary voices, a novel about a young woman's efforts to duck the ills of the world by embarking on an extended hibernation with the help of one of the worst psychiatrists in the annals of literature and the battery of medicines she prescribes.

Our narrator should be happy, like the rest of her needs, a recent Columbia graduate, pretty, works an easy job at a hip art gallery, shouldn't she? She's young, lives in an apartment on the Upper East Side of Manhattan paid for, thin, by her inheritance. But there is a dark and vacuous hole in her heart, or the way her Wall Street boyfriend treats her, or her sadomasochistic relationship with her best friend, and it isn't just the loss of her parents, Reva.

My Year of Rest and Relaxation - Through the story of a year spent under the influence of a truly mad combination of drugs designed to heal our heroine from her alienation from this world, even necessary, Moshfegh shows us how reasonable, alienation can be. Both tender and blackly funny, merciless and compassionate, it is a showcase for the gifts of one of our major writers working at the height of her powers.

Named a best book of the year by:  the washington post, the new york times, the AV Club, The Guardian, Vice, Bustle, NPR, Kirkus Reviews, Entertainment Weekly, Time, Amazon, & Audible Harper Teen. It's the year 2000 in a city aglitter with wealth and possibility; what could be so terribly wrong?My Year of Rest and Relaxation is a powerful answer to that question.